Sleepy-Time Struggles

And the musical beds continue. Liberty can’t go to sleep by herself, and it’s becoming harder and harder for her to stay in her own bed when she does go to sleep. The simplest solution would be to squeeze a king-sized bed in our room, but that’s not going to happen.

I was thinking about giving her melatonin at night, but when Dr. Google told me about the possible side effects, I nixed that. Instead I read about the importance of routines–bath, story, bed, etc. Our schedules make routines like that so incredibly difficult, but how can we be good parents if we can’t manage an evening routine for our child?

So I explained to Liberty yesterday that I read that what helps kids go to sleep at night is no TV in the evenings. Instead, we take a bath, get ready for bed, and then play a game or read a book. She wasn’t thrilled about the no TV part (watching a few minutes of HGTV with me in the evenings has become something of a ritual with us), but was game for the rest of it.

Tonight Derrick took the kids to church with him for choir practice while I worked on my diss for a few hours. We got home around 9 pm, and I hustled Liberty into her pajamas. Then while I was feeding Barrett, she asked for a game. When I said it was too late, she asked, “But didn’t the book say that playing games helps children go to sleep?”

Busted.

So we used the animals from her Barnyard Uno game as buttons to act out Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons. Then as she was protesting bedtime (“A story! A story!”), I told her to ask her Dad to tell her a story while she was going to sleep.

Now my brain function is steadily deteriorating. It’s time for sleep.

Oh, did I mention that our furnace is out? This morning the indoor temp was 61 degrees; the pilot light was out and won’t stay lit when Derrick relights it. We’re waiting to hear back from the landlord.

In other cheerful news, Barrett’s goopy eyes aren’t getting better (glued shut when he woke up this morning–so distressing for the little guy!) so I made a Dr. appt. for him Friday afternoon. Also I have less than 24 hours to make this house presentable for our guests who are coming for Student Welcome day.

Sleep, spring break and warmer weather can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

